Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Let’s burn stuff January 7, 2008

Filed under: Kids — mothersandothers @ 5:52 am

My friends are all sick of hearing it so I’m glad that I can’t see their eyes rolling

when I, once again, mention that I love the book Playful Parenting by Larry Cohen.

I felt challenged to stop using “No” as my quick answer to all things inconvenient

or seemingly dangerous (i.e., do you think paper towels could start a bonfire?).

Instead, I’m stopping to consider if what he’s asking for is really dangerous or just

four year-old curiosity at it’s finest.

So…when he asked what would happen if he hit the “high” button while I was

cooking his egg here’s where we went

img_6169.jpg

and when he asked what would happen if he put spices in boiling water

(he’s fascinated by steam), here’s where he stood for what seemed like forever!

img_6182.jpg

I wish you could have smelled the house. Eeeeeek!

 

One Response to “Let’s burn stuff”

  1. noelle Says:

    i like the fact that you are trying to give him an answer instead of “no”. hopefully it wont get too crazy!


Leave a Reply

