Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

On being a novice January 23, 2008

Filed under: Crafts, you can do it!,sewing — mothersandothers @ 5:10 am

So, you all remember that I got totally inspired by my friend Lindsey’s sewing craftiness awhile back. So much so that I actually purchased a sewing machine. Can you hear all the LDS mothers that ever babysat me cheering? I know ladies, your dresses are coming. But since then, I’ve only done little things that I can figure out on my own. I still have these horrific visions that I need to get over of my hand getting sucked under the needle. Is that normal? Enter a delightfully clear cape tutorial by Lindsey, add a storefront at Etsy (which by the way is a grand place to spend your money), and I got the confidence to give it a shot. Amaiah was excited that I made something for her and I was thanking God that my hand didn’t get sucked under the needle.

img_6364.jpg

img_6367.jpg

img_6366.jpg

 

7 Responses to “On being a novice”

  1. noelle Says:

    you rock!! yyeeaaahhhh for the sewing mamma!

  2. Jen Baker Says:

    I sew too, but I’ve never had any lessons. I’m figuring it all out on my own and–so far–have never had any injuries! Go to this site:

    http://neverenoughhours.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2008-01-03T12%3A03%3A00%2B09%3A00

    Scroll down to “Easy Skirt Tutorial.” I made four of them for Tessa in one day. Of course, I think they may unravel in the washing machine, but they were still fun to make!

  3. mothersandothers Says:

    Jen!!! I miss you so much. It’s good to see your “voice”.

  4. Auntie V Says:

    Good Job !!! Don’t worry about the fingers getting caught..my grandmother was a professional seamstress and I think she only did it once……um maybe twice and she sewed till she was in her 80’s….not as well as before the finger trauma….BUT don’t let that discourage you honey….hahahhaha. we will love anything you create…love auntie v

  5. lindsey Says:

    AAHHH! that turned out so cute! i had to make so many of them i had to use hideous cheap fabric. i love the way you did the initial on a circle. i’ll have to copy. and, i’ve never ran my hand under the machine, but my girlfriend did. her advice is: don’t sew with a baby on your lap. if only it were safe to nurse and sew at the same time, i’d get so much more accomplished!

  6. lindsey Says:

    AAHHH! that turned out so cute! i love the cute fabric. i had to make so many of them i had to use hideous cheap fabric. i love the way you did the initial on a circle. i’ll have to copy. and, i’ve never ran my hand under the machine, but my girlfriend did. her advice is: don’t sew with a baby on your lap. if only it were safe to nurse and sew at the same time, i’d get so much more accomplished!

  7. mothersandothers Says:

    That’s so funny! I loved your fabric. I picked up some that was similar while getting the cape stuff. I tried to make Amaiah a Mei Tai out of it and it turned out pretty good but she doesn’t want to use it…


Leave a Reply

