Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

June Menu June 1, 2008

Filed under: Food,Modern Homemaking,Shal's Monthly Menus — mothersandothers @ 11:27 pm

We just got back from another great camping trip with friends. I thought I would include this food related shot.

Photos, then food

Phaith, photos, food

Phaith, photos, books, food

What do you know I’m meal planning for the second month in a row–a record for this modern frenetic homemaker. A couple of great things to report for May’s menu 1) Yes, that was me whistling and carrying on a genuine conversation with the kids as we shopped. It felt so great not to have to make decisions at the store. 2) Having the whole month planned out was way better than trying to do it week by week. It just goes by to fast. 3) If somebody didn’t like something I blamed it on the schedule, and it worked!!

Now, the drawbacks. And these are things that I just cannot figure out on paper generally; I have to be in it and doing it to see where the changes need to be made. 1) I did not account for leftovers enough 2) Things can be repeated even if it looks boring on the menu 3) We are not always home at snack time so car snacks need to be easy. Or you can take the position that I’m leaning toward which is why do we need to eat every time we get in the freakin’ car? I never remember snacks or even water in the car when I was a kid and no one dehydrated or starved..hmmm…

I’ve also added some links to good raw food sites on the side bar. I’ve been so inspired by the people I’ve met who have committed to eating so cleanly. Your creativity and passion for great food makes my jaw drop (at which point I shovel in as many raw brownie balls as possible) .

Enjoy your June!!

Recipe links:

Cooked Millet w/ Dates and Mandarins

Banana Energy Sundae

Kermit’s Dip

Scallops and Asparagus Risotto

Sage and Garlic Turkey Burgers

 

4 Responses to “June Menu”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Hey Shal!

    Another great place to browse for recipes is:
    http://www.marthastewart.com/ and click on “Food” — my friend Irene told me she looks through the MS food magazine every month, earmarks pages, goes shopping, and she’s got her “meal plan” for the month. I’ve tasted some of her concoctions and they’re good, and easy, and the best part is the recipes don’t call for things you’ve never heard of (like my Raw uncook book….)

    Love,
    Sar

  2. Grammy Says:

    I’m so proud of you for sticking with it and happy that it is working for you!! Think of having a small case of water and snacks in the car as part of your earthquake prep kit! As always, you are soooooooo funny! I would buy your books even if I wasn’t your mom!!

    Love You,
    Me

  3. Grammy Says:

    Oh….I forgot…to funny “Doughnut at church”!!!

    Love,
    Me

  4. mothersandothers Says:

    Sar-I have used her “Everyday Food” magazine in the past. I think the layout of it is really nice, especially the shopping lists.

    Mom-Thanks lady! I think we should skip the earthquake kit. Can I fit a self-sustaining cabin/compound in the trunk that can be used during a time of economic collapse? That’s it, the Economic Collapse Car Kit. LOL


Leave a Reply

