Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Heart & Soul anyone? July 18, 2008

Filed under: General — mothersandothers @ 10:21 pm

Did you all see that they were giving pianos away at Wal-Mart yesterday? Just kidding. But it was Free Piano Day at our house. Bri and I are officially addicted to finding free things. We do our daily check of websites where people just want someone to come get their “junk”. To which I usually reply, “I’m coming, I’m coming!” A piano has been at the top of my list for a while now. Nevermind that none of us actually know how to play. I really just wanted something that a.) the kids and their friends could pound on without me wigging out about it being banged up and b.) that didn’t look completely crappy. The only way for me to accomplish “a” was that it had to be free. We found an awesome one a couple of months ago but were hours too late in snagging it. Then Bri saw this one a couple of days ago and jumped on it just in time. It’s been with only one family since the 1920’s and was living in Corona del Mar. The only catch…it’s 700 lbs of mostly solid brass and wood and this is what you have to navigate to get it out.

and this

and this

Nothing six young firefighters can’t handle right?

I’m told the banter during this would have offended sailors

The neighbors have already been given full permission to let us know if we’re rockin’ out too loud.

When I find a cool e-book on how to play piano I’ll let you know.

Until then, anyone up for a little Heart and Soul?

 

2 Responses to “Heart & Soul anyone?”

  1. noelle Says:

    the only tune o can do is the one where you roll your knuckles across a few keys – back and forth. OR if i get paid ill do “My Little Butter Cup” but you and my mom have to dress the part and sing the rest!

  2. Auntie Vickie Says:

    hahahah,where is my Sombrero ??! Lip balm ?


Leave a Reply

