Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

We’re still at it July 22, 2008

Filed under: Are home renovations fun? — mothersandothers @ 10:07 pm

I have strayed from house updates because it’s all we talk about, which makes me loathe to also type about it. But, it was a part of the old blog (I think I took the link out), it’s a HUGE part of my life, so along you come.

Some updates on the money pit.

New color for Wyatt’s room? I’m done with blue even though it was and still is the best blue.

Before Christmas we came back to the fireplace. Brian had boxed over all the black marble months earlier but the hearth remained uncovered while we decided if it should be the travertine that we laid in the entry and hallways.

Um, ah….er, mmm, I don’t know. Okay, yes, let’s go with the travertine. Good thing we bought the whole quarry. Bust out the tile saw baby! I make him wear those ear muff thingys.

Keeping Wyatt busy. Here, break all these up into really little pieces.

Then measure each piece really carefully

Make a mosaic using dad’s tile thin set. That’s non-toxic right?

Yeah for travertine hearths!!

I swear I did not set this up. I almost killed myself running for the camera so I wouldn’t miss it.

So here’s where we’re at currently. We had to stop again to finish canned lights (thank you uncle Glen) and work on the outside before exterior paint in August. Oh yeah, and Bri framed and built me an actual storage unit in our garage to house all my free junk that was getting ruined by all the sawdust. Here is the photo we’re copying though. It’s our friends’ fireplace. He is a woodworker (thank you God!) and she is one of my best friends who I know secretly works for Ballard and just won’t tell me. It’s a bad scan but you get the idea.

 

2 Responses to “We’re still at it”

  1. noelle Says:

    CANT wait to see wyatt’s room after the green! what did you do with the tile project that the kids did? you should always “almost” kill yourself to get those great photos!

  2. Auntie Vickie Says:

    Yahoo…I can leave a message! Great shots! I love that Amaiah is wearing gloves. haha, Good job on keeping them busy and feeling a part of the entire project..I loved the photo of them sitting and waiting for a fire…even though it is the middle of July! Next time,before you run for your camera, you might need to grab one of their helmets that is sitting on the floor.Just in case.OH ,by the way I love how the project is turning out and the green is great.


Leave a Reply

