Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Food Fight! July 25, 2008

Filed under: Kid Birthday Parties — mothersandothers @ 11:43 pm

The little man has officially walked into fivedom. Say it ain’t so! We had the greatest party this year. So fun in fact, he told me he wants this SAME party every year, and I just may indulge him.

This is, hands-down, the easiest, funnest, cheapest party we’ve done since adopting a back-to-basics attitude about kid parties. I was going for something every kid wants to do and never gets to do. Shazaam, play with their food, right? Better yet, mash their food into their best buddies.

Food Fight!

Okay I can’t wait any longer, here’s what they looked like when they were done.

Here are the details:

I kept the numbers small for obvious reasons. He invited his three best buddies. It took some convincing on his part that the party would still be fun if they all came with their moms and 3 year-old sisters. I told the moms up front that I was just planning for the boys to go into the Food Fight Room. It turns out the girls were totally out on it anyway. LOL.

For the invites I copied this idea.

It’s a postcard that’s about the size of a 3.5 X 5 card. There was no reason to measure each of them since I did no printing and used no envelope. I found some thick chip board in my craft stuff and cut it down. Wyatt painted a big smeary foodesque picture for me that I then cut up. Next I printed on some mailing labels I already had, sloppily did a red marker border, and wrapped it around the right edge of the invite

Back

Note: This was Grammy’s invite. On the invites to the boys I added,”Please arrive in swim trunks and bring a clean pair of shorts.”

We took a room in our house that has very little furniture in it and pushed it all against one wall. In one of Brian’s past lives he re-textured ceilings, so he had the room completely bagged in about fifteen minutes. That big “W” is my one decoration. I was originally going to have them fling potatoes at it with spoons as a game, but then decided no games were needed.

For the favors we gave “food” splattered lunch sacks to everyone that were filled with his five favorite good-for-you snacks.

The day before the party we placed the bags on the ground in the bagged room, and the kids and I flung

our paintbrushes at them. It was so fun!

Before the fight started I gave them goggles to wear (they also took these home).

I bought the cheapest food I could find at Big Lots and Smart & Final. Here’s what they had in their arsenal:

Spaghetti

Mashed Potatoes

Chocolate Pudding

Jello

Cooked Carrots and Peas

Cheerios

Canned Whipped Cream

After they were done I went around to the slider and cut a hole in the plastic to let them all out…straight into the shower.

Finally, I made them t-shirts to wear and keep. I got a multi-color pack at K-mart, found some splat images on the internet, added words, printed on transfer paper, and ironed them on. I inadvertently gave some of them that sweet worn look because I ironed them too long. Ha! The front said “You Got Food On Your Face” and the back said “I survived Wyatt’s Food Fight June 2008”

Afterwards they came in for lunch and singing and playing. Instead of the usual “no gifts” policy we’ve switched to the “bring something used from your house” policy because let’s face it, kids like to give and get gifts. As for the clean-up, we just slipped in between the plastic and the wall then pulled it down onto itself, tucked it into a ball and tossed it into the trash. No mess anywhere!

Happy Birthday Baby Boy!

I love you soooooo much!

Okay, and I just had to include this shot of one of the girls because it was too good not to share.

 

13 Responses to “Food Fight!”

  1. Grammy Says:

    Honey,

    You are brilliant! Can’t express enough how gifted you are when it comes to creative ideas! What a wonderful and unforgettable experience for the kids! The pictures capture the essence perfectly. As I always say…you have outdone yourself AGAIN!!! Okay, I have an idea…how about a coffee table book of kid’s birthday parties!

    I love you so very much!

    Mom

  2. Auntie Vickie Says:

    Wow What fun !!! You are such a cool mom! I loved the picture of the 4 boys all lined up after the food fight ….Happy Birthday Wyatt ! We love you very much

  3. Ann McClintock Says:

    Too amazing. This kicks finger paint’s rear end.

  4. noelle Says:

    hey – thats awesome! how did you not get food on your camera in some of those shots?!!! those little guys will always remember this party!

  5. mothersandothers Says:

    I poked my camera through a little lens-size hole.

    Ann,
    If you come down here for a visit I promise to recreate this for the boys and we’ll join them!!!! Yeah!!

  6. i found this party on creativepartyplace.com. i’m usually not this lame, but i got teary eyed thinking how much my sons would love this kind of party…ok, they are one and two. however, i just vicariously saw my boys older in your great pictures! new fan here!

  7. Tracy Says:

    I am in love with this party!!! I would love to feature it on my blog??? Thanks, Tracy affectionfordetail@gmail.com

  8. Annie Says:

    Found you on Pinterest. Thank you for the inspiration. You rock!

  9. Laura Says:

    Found you by searching “food fight party” which my son has been asking for all school year…his b-day isn’t until Aug. Such great ideas and your pics are gorgeous. You’ve inspired me! Thanks

  10. Absolutely LOVE your party. My daughter is asking for a food fight party for her 9th bday and I am finally convinced, thanks to your post. Nice work. 🙂

    • mothersandothers Says:

      Thanks Jessica! We ended up doing it a second time a few years later for my daughter, too. It was very memorable:)

  11. […] 12. Host a Food Fight Party (via Beyond Deweyville) […]


Leave a Reply

