Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Photo Shoot Thursday (lots of Thursdays ago) October 29, 2008

Filed under: Kids — mothersandothers @ 10:54 am

Just before my all-day-and-all-night sickness kicked in and my body started acting like Linda Blair in the The Exorcist, I had the pleasure of a session with some of our good friends (you probably recognize them from other posts). I’ve learned the trick to shooting kids is low expectations. I go into it expecting no posing, no smiles. It never really looks like anything organized is taking place–the kids hold the camera and take pictures of me, sometimes we just sit, sometimes we roll around, freeze tag is usually involved, and almost always the shoes come off. And somewhere in between all that, I sneak in some shots. I thought you might enjoy some of them. Oh yeah, and I’m pretty sure this is the only blog post on the web that manages to reference The Exorcist and childrens photography.

And of course, some of my own…

 

4 Responses to “Photo Shoot Thursday (lots of Thursdays ago)”

  1. Noelle Says:

    love love love them – any parent would be proud to blow these suckers up and hang them on their wall!

  2. auntie vickie Says:

    You really captured the feel for the day! Awesome and relaxing and fun….those are simply wonderful shots….love you sweetie

  3. auntie vickie Says:

    I love Amaiah’s shoes !!

  4. Sarah Says:

    OMG that Amaiah pose. !!!!!! Shal, these are gorgeous. Just gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

