Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

If you salt it, I will eat it December 5, 2008

Filed under: Food,General — mothersandothers @ 7:42 pm

Dear Santa,

All I want for Christmas is 10,000 boxes that look like this

caramels

Now is not a good time for my appetite to be making even a guest appearance. It’s a really really bad time in fact. Seriously, right before Christmas? I’m in trouble. For the past three plus months food has meant nothing to me, which has been absolute torture. I’m an emotional eater to the core. Give this flesh happy food or a hot shower to solve all it’s problems. This way of coping seems to work out for me because I know enough about nutrition (and several vegans) to balance out my indulgences, and I have a very agreeable metabolism to take care of it. My brain has been in constant overdrive lately trying to make my body and spirit feel better by thinking of foods that have made us happy in the past. This usually involves some combo of salt and sweet–either sweet things get salted or salty things are eaten with a bite of sweet somethin’. Correct me if I’m wrong but this is a midwest practice right? When I was a kid things like watermelon and cantaloupe were just not eaten with out a couple of shakes of iodized heaven. So…I am always happy to see packages that say things like “salt” and “caramel”. However, I’m picky, and snarky, and I’m inevitably disappointed by the salt sugar ratio.

Enter some geniuses at Trader Joe’s

Can you see the chunks of sea salt on these babies? They’re perfection!

caramels2

Happy Christmas indulging my loved ones!

 

2 Responses to “If you salt it, I will eat it”

  1. noelle Says:

    dang it!!! we were at traders today and i didn’t see those!!! however i did get the “sipping chocolate” I’ll let you know how that goes…

  2. Auntie Vickie Says:

    I wonder if that will fit in your stocking…hey is that a bit of ‘dark chocolate ‘ on your hand??? Glad to see that you are getting your appitite back….unusual as it may be…how bout those pickles and ice cream???


Leave a Reply

