Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Excuse me while I nest like a complete maniac April 3, 2009

Filed under: Are home renovations fun? — mothersandothers @ 6:17 pm

Today’s topic: My bedroom and whether or not it’s a good idea to completely redo the space you plan to give birth in just weeks before you plan to give birth. Will it throw me off mentally to be in an unfamiliar setting or will I be so happy to finally have it done that I will be able to relax that much more. How will the kids respond? I contemplated posting a “before” photo here so that you can properly appreciate the “after” but decided against it. It’s just toooo shabby, and not even in a remotely chic way. It is a space that we have utterly ignored for the five years that we have been living here. And so far I’ve been pretty successful in keeping most of you from seeing it. So, you want to see the goal?

First you have to meet Henri. Henri Bresson. He’s a photographer that my dad first introduced me to a while back and I fell in love with him. He’s most famous for capturing people in decisive moments. Which street will I take? Will I jump in that puddle? Below is one of my favorite shots of his. I’ve just always been moved by the mood of this shot. I want to see the front of this woman and is she fixing her sweater or doing something else? (Edited 4/7: April wins. She suggested that the woman is probably texting. Aaahhhaa. Love it.)

bressonbeach-copy2
My biggest connection to it though has got to be the dog.

Enter the first dog I remember, Monty.

Pretty wild how similar they are huh?

monty

So what the heck does this have to do with my bedroom you ask? Okay, here goes. It took me a while but I realized that every idea in my bulging design binder is there because it somehow resonates with a photo I stared at as a child. So, here’s how Bresson’s shot translates into a room for me. I think we can pull it off since there’s little construction involved and I’ve managed to source most of the items. Am I nuts? I feel compelled. I’ll keep you posted.

mastermag


 

2 Responses to “Excuse me while I nest like a complete maniac”

  1. noelle Says:

    get ‘er done!

  2. Auntie Vickie Says:

    My take is that she is getting ready to go skinny dipping…I love the perspective that the photographer has…
    As far as your room goes…you have time now,so you might want to tackle it a bit….knowing that it may not be done completely..BUT… the bigger question is how are you feeling?love the idea ,it looks great.I have been looking for an old trunk for years to do just that or to use as a coffee table.


Leave a Reply

