Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

The power of suggestion June 17, 2009

Filed under: General — mothersandothers @ 7:20 pm

The power of suggestion is not lost on the newly born. The day we checked in with the pediatrician he shared with us that he believes much of a newborn’s fussiness happens because they feel sad and homesick for their old home. I think she must have been listening intently to him from my arms since that night she gave me a run for my money and let her sadness flow. As I rocked her I thought more about his opinion and began to feel so sad for her (I know, the hormones don’t help). I pictured her missing her own little warm ocean wondering where the heck that world went. I tried to lay her little funny-haired head on my chest thinking that my heartbeat might prove to her that she’s just on the other side of that world. She was against this. So I just whispered to her and told her how I experienced it. I explained that during her life growing inside me it was as if she were my silent traveling companion. A small but strengthening force riding in one of those backpack carriers as I trekked over the Andes. I told her that right before she was born I became very sad at the thought of our journey in this form coming to an end, even though I knew we would meet up again on a different road and in a different form very soon.

Change is hard isn’t it?

But, without that change we wouldn’t be able to look you in the eyes

We wouldn’t be able to kiss your soft little parts

Or say sorry that you got dad’s pinky toes

Or laugh when Amaiah declared upon further inspection, “You guys, she does actually have a neck!”

DSC_0642a

Note: I really wanted this entry to have a graceful ending but then I hit the wall (not literally). This stressed me out for about ten minutes.

I then remembered that I’m neither in school or working for some high paying publication so I can just end things any old way. In fact, mid-sentence if I

 

5 Responses to “The power of suggestion”

  1. noelle Says:

    hahaah way a great way to

  2. benriddering Says:

    Hey Shalimar,

    Congrats on a beautiful baby girl. My mom forwarded me your blog. Fortunately, those days of adjusting to the outside world don’t last long. Oh, I but still can’t wait for those days of snuggling with a newborn all night again! Have you ever seen the Dunstan baby language? I was pretty skeptical at first, but a friend lent it to me, and it really helped with those long nights when you just can’t get them to calm down. Looking forward to seeing you all at thanksgiving (if I’m really lucky I might have a new one too!)

    Shannon

    • mothersandothers Says:

      Thanks Shannon! I requested it at the library today. I remember seeing her when she was on Oprah and I had totally forgotten about it. Congrats to you guys on the next one coming. I hope we don’t miss you again at Thanksgiving this year. xoxoxoxoxo

  3. thelesages Says:

    shannon – we heard the baby news thru the “Leeds” vine! congrats to your growing family!!
    -noelle

  4. Auntie Vickie Says:

    What a great picture and story…you should be a writer…even with that kind of ending..haha.


Leave a Reply

