Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Stop rushing me August! August 2, 2009

Filed under: Food,Shal's Monthly Menus — mothersandothers @ 5:49 am

A couple of days ago I was talking to Noelle on the phone and realized in the middle of the conversation that August is here. Frick!

So here I sit at 10:34pm working on next month’s menu while simultaneously polishing off Brian’s leftover Cheesecake Factory cheesecake. Double frick!

How about a shot of things growing like mad in the garden to make us all feel better. This project gets more rewarding everyday. We hop out of bed every morning and walk straight to the window to see what’s changed over night. Then I curse the mutant grasshopper that’s been nibbling on things.

DSC_0067

We’ve also made and drank about six jars of this over the last couple of days (not including the huge jar I shattered in the driveway on my way to deliver it to my neighbor).

And seriously, I’ve become like a little factory with this. If you call and say you want some I’ll have it out on the curb for you. LOL

Basil Lemonade

Makes 6 cups

1 can lemonade concentrate, thawed

6 C. water

Slightly less than 1/3 C. sugar

Juice of 1 juicy lime

A good size bunch of torn basil

This will taste a little different each time you make it depending on the type of basil and limes you choose.

Shake it all together in a jar or stir it in a big bowl. Refrigerate for about 8 hours. Strain basil and enjoy!

DSC_0062

Now, what the heck to eat this month? What to feed my getting pickier by the second son? Ugghh, I’m so tired of picky kids. I feel less creative this month. Usually I love nosing around in all my cookbooks and favorite sites and mixing it all up. Maybe it’s the summer heat. We seem to be stuck in a holding pattern with PB & honey sandwiches so to change it up and keep them happy I choose a different nut butter (almond, cashew, sunflower, etc). Also, I’ve started cooking classes with the kids twice a week. By cooking class I mean me yelling, “Come to the kitchen it’s time for cooking class!” Then I whip out this nifty kids cookbook that Sarah thought I would love, and I do! I ended up ordering the whole series by Mollie Katzen and even one for my mom to keep at her house since Wyatt is always wanting to “make some soup Gram!” They are by far the simplest best cookbooks that I have seen for kids. So this month it’s Honest Pretzels and Zucchini Circles during Shal’s Cooking Class.

Happy Summer!!

August 2009 Menu

 

3 Responses to “Stop rushing me August!”

  1. Auntie V Says:

    ” You’re killing me Smalls”….you are sure full of energy..I love that you are feeling better…it is about time! I will have to try that drink.Uncle Greg and I are having a lot of fun with our garden too.MANY beautiful tomatoes and bell peppers,cucumbers,and very abnormal looking carrots..hehehe. The Basil we planted is so good ! Yahoo to our gardens that are plentiful with many surprises…love ,Auntie V

  2. Shelly Says:

    love your meal plan for August, may have to steal it.
    i really don’t know how you have time and energy for this – you are amazing!!!

    i have a question that I think you might know the answer, how do you get mold out of a washing machine? I have a samsung front loader machine and I didn’t know that you should leave the door open after you use it (( didn’t want the kids or cats to get in there), but now i have mold and I don’t want to use bleach. any suggestions?


Leave a Reply

