Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Wanna hear a funny story? August 4, 2009

Filed under: General — mothersandothers @ 3:47 pm

There’s no photo with today’s post. In a few sentences you’ll know why and be relieved. I was telling this story recently and thought it should be enjoyed by a larger audience than just my mom and Brian.

There’s a room in our house who’s large (remember large) window is at street level facing our busy (remember busy) neighborhood street. One night when Wyatt was about a year and a half old we took our shower before bed as usual. For reasons that have escaped me I decided to blow dry my hair, which I never do at night. So Wyatt’s toddling around the room and I’m undressed and bending over (like yoga over) drying my hair, taking a really long time. All the lights are turned on. Very brightly. And, I remember it being an exceptionally dark night outside. You’re laughing already because who has a hairstyle these days that requires the upside down action? So I finish up, smile and say hi to my lovely little son whose leaving the room, and then I turn around.

And I’m looking out a window that has had it’s plantation shutters pulled wide open at some point (probably at the very beginning of the blow dry) while I was bending over, for all the world to see.

So for all of you that slow down even a little while night driving because it’s fun to see into houses at night…

Watch out when you drive by mine (or at least honk and give me a thumbs up)!

 

6 Responses to “Wanna hear a funny story?”

  1. noelle Says:

    ahahahaaaa aaaaaaahh yeeaaahh!

  2. Auntie V Says:

    hahahha…I can totally relate : 1,I still flip my head over to dry my hair…curly hair routine….2,did I ever tell you the ‘hey,neighbor’,story???? hehehehhe…I will tell you in person.
    If ever I have a drive by experience in front of your house I will surely honk and applaud …way to go Shal….give,give,give…
    Love you.Thanks for the funny stories. love Auntie V

  3. Anonymous Says:

    It was a full moon that night!!

  4. karen Says:

    sadly, i too still do the upside down hair-dry 90% of the time. usually not with the drapes open though 🙂

  5. aaronleeds Says:

    Ummm???????? TMI for you cousin, some of us are just to visual, but then again Im all for naked days in the comfort of your own home…did that sound weird??? you got me all jacked up right now hahaha


Leave a Reply

