Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

Amaiah’s Doll Party May 17, 2010

My girl Amaiah turned five

Five!

We decided to have a doll party

Each of the guests was asked to bring their favorite baby or pet

I realized after the party that I had more fun sitting alongside her, preparing all the details during the previous week, than I had at the actual party. lol!

I’m becoming more and more a fan of tweaking the store bought invitation rather than starting from scratch. I bought these before Amaiah was born.

I just loved them so.

We used stamps and markers to fill in the details

She got ink everywhere

For the favors

I made each girl a flannel burp cloth for her baby.

Amaiah loved helping me pick out the fabric

We also made play dough that we pretended was baby food

She decided which kind of food each color looked like, stood beside me while I made the label, and then we totally argued about who got to glue them on

We gave them to the guests in these little glitter pails

Another purchase I made a long time ago

Target $1 bin

When the friends first arrived they sat and made jewelry for their baby/pet

I bought some preemie diapers and set up a diaper changing station for them.

By my count, they all changed their dolls’ diapers about six times.

For the lunch table Amaiah picked out all the decorations from guess where…Target

Brian made her favorite, Macaroni and Cheese

After lunch we played a game

The girls had to race to do a series of mom tasks:

Put on an apron

Shove diapers and a blanket in a bag

Put their baby in a stroller

Run around

Come back and unpack it all

They were laughing so hard!

The winner got this

Next came present opening

And finally, cake!

I love you sweet baby girl!

 

5 Responses to “Amaiah’s Doll Party”

  1. Auntie Vickie Says:

    What a fun way to recognize such a lovely young lady…I can’t believe she is 5 ! Looks like they had a fun time…would have loved to have seen that game taking place..that made me laugh.love you …Happy Birthday Miss Amaiah

  2. Noelle Says:

    oh man, thats so great! i agree, the game sounded so fun!

  3. Lindsey Says:

    Seriously Shal… How do you have time to be so darn cute?!?!?! Another reason why I ❤ you! 🙂

  4. Anonymous Says:

    What amazing God-given talent you have sweetie! Your creativity is out of this world! What a lucky little pumpkin that Miss Amaiah Moo is to have you for a Mom!!! Sissy, your birthday party couldn’t have been more special – JUST LIKE YOU!! I LOVE YOU,
    GRAMMY

  5. mothersandothers Says:

    Thanks for all the serious love guys! xoxo, Shal


Leave a Reply

