Beyond Deweyville

Breeding, feeding, writing, reading, crafting, and photographing in Orange County, CA Where it has become a novelty to raise your own kids and mow your own grass (if you can afford some).

White Flour–How to make it a little less evil May 19, 2011

Filed under: Food — mothersandothers @ 1:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

So, I’m not going to lie, I love cooking with white flour.

I know how alarmingly BAD it is, but I still keep it around for certain things.

Am I delusional that 50,002 green smoothies might balance it out just a wee bit?

Here’s one way you can add some really good stuff back.

You won’t even notice.

I promise.

Gather three things, you can find them all at Henry’s, Mother’s, or Whole Foods, but unfortunately NOT at Trader Joe’s.

Soy Flour

Brewers Yeast

Raw Wheat Germ


For each cup of flour you use put the following into your measuring cup first

1 T. Soy Flour

1 T. Wheat Germ

1 tsp. Brewers Yeast

It should look like this:

Then fill the rest of your measuring cup up with flour, level as usual, and continue on with your recipe.

Now, do you swear you’ll go make a green smoothie after eating whatever it is you’re making with white flour??

Thank you!

I got this tip out of the following cookbook that I wish I would have found before I had three kids.

